Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the Bridgetek Community!

Please read our Welcome Note

Technical Support enquires
please contact the team
@ Bridgetek Support

Please refer to our website for detailed information on all our products - Bridgetek - Bridging Technology

Author Topic: Images not loading correctly in EVE Screen Editor  (Read 8146 times)

jlewis

• View Profile
Images not loading correctly in EVE Screen Editor
« on: December 19, 2023, 06:17:15 PM »

Hello, I'm new to working with displays so bear with me.  I can't find any good full set of instructions for how to take a PNG, run it through the Asset Builder, create a flash file, and get it to load properly in the EVE Screen Editor.  The best I've found is section "H. Project Settings" in the EVE manual. 

To make it simple I started with a bitmap instead of my PNG, and ran it through the Converter tab of the Image Utilities in the Asset Builder.  I started with the default output format of ARGB1555, but that didn't work and I had read elsewhere that some files only load from flash if they're in ASTC format so I chose COMPRESSED_RGBA_ASTC_4X4_KHR.  Everything looked good there, so then I went to the Flash Utilities section.  I wasn't sure which file to add to the flash image but I've gotten farthest with the astc file.  Created flash file bin and map files and all good so far.

Then in ESE I load the map file as described in the manual and I get 4 items in the content window:
Status.  | Name
--------------------------------------------------------------
Flash.    | EDF Block
Overlap | bmp_24_200x200xCOMPRESSED...astc
Overlap | bmp_24_200x200xCOMPRESSED...astc.pad
Builtin   | bt817.blob

I assume the .pad file is to get the alignment that EVE wants.  Is it ok that it overlaps?  Does something need to be adjusted?  What is the blob for?  Why is it builtin?