BRT Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the Bridgetek Community!

Please read our Welcome Note

Technical Support enquires
please contact the team
@ Bridgetek Support

Please refer to our website for detailed information on all our products - Bridgetek - Bridging Technology

Author Topic: How to get D2XX tab on programming utility to work?  (Read 1812 times)

Rayman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
How to get D2XX tab on programming utility to work?
« on: October 22, 2019, 02:59:52 PM »

I don't seem to be able to get the D2XX tab on the programming utility to populate...
I've tried three different computers and three different FT9xx boards with same result.

I can see the USB device that this needs until I hit the scan button and then it disconnects...
What am I doing wrong?
Logged

Rayman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: How to get D2XX tab on programming utility to work?
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2019, 03:29:31 AM »

I was playing around with this and it started working.  Not sure why.
One thing I did when it worked was launch the utility using:
FT900Prog GUI Launcher.bat
located here:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Bridgetek\FT9xx Toolchain\Toolchain\programmer\dist

I can't imaging that was the reason why it started working though...
Logged

Rayman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: How to get D2XX tab on programming utility to work?
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2019, 09:49:23 PM »

Actually, I think I just confirmed this behavior on a different computer.
Programming utility barely working from inside Eclipse, but works fine with the directly link posted above.

Just tested on a third computer, same thing.
Funny, you can program via 1-wire just fine inside eclipse, but the utility doesn't work when invoked from Eclipse.
I suppose that is because the programming is done with FT900Prog.exe and not the GUI utility.

I'm really surprised nobody else had this difficulty...
« Last Edit: October 23, 2019, 09:57:43 PM by Rayman »
Logged

BRT Community

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 287
    • View Profile
Re: How to get D2XX tab on programming utility to work?
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2019, 09:09:00 AM »

Hello,

You must have active D2XX firmware programmed into the FT9xx.

You can test this by programming the D2XX Example 1 found in AN_360 FT9xx Example Applications.

When programming is complete, plug in the USB device port to the PC and allow for the USB ports to enumerate. The drivers should load automatically via Windows Update.

Now run the FT9xx Programming Utility and if you load the D2XX tab you will see the D2XX data.

Best Regards,
BRT Community
Logged

Rayman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: How to get D2XX tab on programming utility to work?
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2019, 02:51:02 PM »

This is all with D2XX firmware...

I do have somewhat better luck on a forth computer.  On this one, it only sometimes loses connection either inside Eclipse or from the .bat file after selecting the programmer and hitting the "Next" button on the FT9xx Programming Utility one-wire interface dialog.

At this point, it sometimes works and populates the D2XX tab, but more often it says "There is no response from the MCU.  Please check the connections (power, data) and try again.  Now, I can hit the "Scan for device" button and it will sometimes populate the D2XX tab.

But, sometimes it freezes and Eclipse freezes too.  At this point, you need to CTRL-ALT-DEL and end the task Eclipse task to recover...

I think I'm going to never use the programming utility from inside of Eclipse.
Instead, I'll use it with this:  FT900Prog GUI Launcher.bat
located here:   C:\Program Files (x86)\Bridgetek\FT9xx Toolchain\Toolchain\programmer\dist

I don't know how or why, but the one inside Eclipse does not work or does not work as well, at least on the four Win10 PCs I've tried it on...
« Last Edit: October 24, 2019, 02:58:59 PM by Rayman »
Logged

BRT Community

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 287
    • View Profile
Re: How to get D2XX tab on programming utility to work?
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2019, 04:52:48 PM »

Hello, yes that is strange.

The shortcut on the desktop basically calls FT900Prog GUI Launcher.bat from that location anyway.
You can see this by right-clicking and looking at the shortcut properties.

Best Regards,
BRT Community
Logged

BRT Community

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 287
    • View Profile
Re: How to get D2XX tab on programming utility to work?
« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2019, 04:20:44 PM »

Hello,

I have tested this out on our Windows 10 PC and couldn’t replicate the behaviour.

There is also a shortcut created on the desktop 'FT9xx Programming Utility' which can be run to invoke the programmer.

Best Regards,
BRT Community
Logged